Hello World!

Welcome to my blog entitled “Bottom Up into the Cloud”. This title aims at the various computer oriented topics about which I am going to write: from the tiniest details of computing technology to the most abstract topics. Retro and nerd topics will occur alongside with hot buzzword suspicious developments.

About me

I am a Ph.D. student at the “Technische Universität Darmstadt” in the area of database systems. My research focus is on the adaption of those systems given new hardware technology and their possibilities. Since 2001 I am a consequent Linux user and you find me more often on the command line or in an Emacs window than in any other program. When I am coding, then it is currently in C/C++ and Bash most of the time; nevertheless, I am able to do things in various other languages, too.

Besides being an academic computer scientist I am an active gymnast and also a trainer for trampolining at the sports club TV Nieder-Beerbach. I am also part of the executive committee of this club as the responsible for youth work and the maintenance of its website. Together with my wife I renovate a house in Nieder-Beerbach (a part of Mühltal, Hessen, Germany), so my weekends are dominated of manual work currently.

face219

Hallo Welt!

Willkommen zu meinem Blog mit dem Titel “Bottom Up into the Cloud”. Dieser Titel ist so zu verstehen, dass ich hier über die verschiedensten Dinge im Zusammenhang mit Computern schreiben werde: von den kleinsten und feinsten Details bis hin zu den abstraktesten und abgehobensten Themen. Ganz nerdige Retro-Themen werde ich dabei gleichermaßen behandeln wie top-aktuelle Buzzword verdächtige Entwicklungen.

Über mich

Ich bin aktuell Doktorand an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt im Gebiet Datenbanksysteme und forsche mit dem Fokus auf deren Anpassung an die Möglichkeiten neuer Hardware. Ich bin seit etwa 2001 konsequenter Linux-Nutzer und prinzipiell eher auf der Kommandozeile und im Emacs-Fenster unterwegs als irgendwo sonst. Ich programmiere vorwiegend in C/C++ und Bash, komme aber in einer ganzen Reihe anderer Programmiersprachen ebenfalls zurecht.

Neben der Informatik bin ich auch sportlich aktiv und bin Trainer für Trampolinturnen beim TV Nieder-Beerbach, bei dem ich außerdem als Jugendwart im Vorstand aktiv bin und die Website technisch betreue. Mit meiner Frau zusammen renoviere ich gerade ein Haus in Nieder-Beerbach (einem Ortsteil von Mühltal, Hessen), bin also auch handwerklich zugange.